IOER Annual Conference 2022

Space & Transformation: Liveable Futures

21-23 September 2022 at Deutsches Hygiene-Museum Dresden, Germany

Keynotes 2022

This will not be Tidy: Transforming to Liveable Futures

Short biography: Ann Light is Professor of Design and Creative Technology, University of Sussex, UK and Professor of Interaction Design, Social Change and Sustainability at Malmö University, Sweden. She is a design researcher and interaction theorist, specializing in participatory practice, human-computer interaction and collaborative future-making, with qualifications in humanities, arts, computer science and artificial intelligence. Her 25-year research career has focused on the politics, ethics and agency of design, exploring eco-social change-making in a range of community settings and leading interdisciplinary teams in diverse fields, from the ethical consumption of coffee to interdisciplinarity itself. She has worked with arts and grass-roots organizations and marginalized groups on five continents and is currently co-leading research on the European Union’s Creative Practices for Transformative Futures and UK’s Social Justice in the Digital Economy. Beyond her academic career, she has 10 years’ professional experience in the design sector and ran an international charity using digital media for cultural exchange.

Short biography: Erik Gómez-Baggethun is a Professor in Environmental Governance at the Norwegian University of Life Sciences (NMBU) and a Senior Research Associate at the University of Oxford. His research covers topics in ecological economics, urban planning, and sustainability science, topics on which he has published ~150 papers, book chapters, and policy reports. He has led various research projects on urban sustainability and was a lead author of the UN-CBD report Cities and Biodiversity Outlook 1. Erik is president elect of the International Society for Ecological Economics and serves as an expert on nature’s values for the Intergovernmental Platform on Biodiversity & Ecosystem Services (IPBES).

Prof. Dr. Cordula Kropp is a sociologist with a long-standing focus on sustainability-oriented research on social relations of nature, innovations and socio-technical change. Since 2016, she has held the Chair of Sociology of Technology, Risk and Environment at the Social Science Institute of the University of Stuttgart. Her current work focuses on ongoing infrastructural change (e.g. energy transition, transport, food and construction transition, digitalization and automation) and participatory development of sustainable cities (from urban gardens to smart cities). She is Director of the Center for Interdisciplinary Risk and Innovation Studies at the University of Stuttgart (ZIRIUS) and Lead PI in the Cluster of Excellence "Integrative Computational Design and Construction for Architecture" (IntCDC). Recent publications include the textbook Kropp & Sonnberger (2021): Environmental Sociology. Baden-Baden: Nomos and the edited volume Kropp, C., Antoni-Komar, I. & C. Sage eds. (2021): Food system transformations: social movements, local economies, collaborative networks (Critical Food Studies). New York/ London: Routledge.

IÖR-Jahrestagung 2022

Raum & Transformation: Lebenswerte Zukünfte

vom 21. bis 23. September 2022 im Deutschen Hygiene-Museum in Dresden

Keynotes

This will not be Tidy: Transforming to Liveable Futures

Kurzbiographie: Ann Light ist Professorin für Design und kreative Technologie an der University of Sussex, Großbritannien, und Professorin für Interaktionsdesign, sozialen Wandel und Nachhaltigkeit an der Universität Malmö, Schweden. Sie ist Designforscherin und Interaktionstheoretikerin, spezialisiert auf partizipative Praktiken, Mensch-Computer-Interaktion und kollaborative Zukunftsgestaltung, mit Hintergrund in Geisteswissenschaften, Kunst, Informatik und künstlicher Intelligenz. In ihrer 25-jährigen Forschungslaufbahn konzentrierte sie sich auf Politik, Ethik und Handlungsfähigkeit von Design, untersuchte ökosoziale Veränderungen in kommunalen Kontexten und leitete interdisziplinäre Teams in verschiedenen Bereichen, vom ethisch-korrekten Kaffeekonsum bis zum Thema Interdisziplinarität selbst. Sie hat mit Kunst- und Bürger*innenbewegungen sowie marginalisierten Gruppen auf fünf Kontinenten zusammengearbeitet und ist derzeit Co-Leiterin des Forschungsprojekts Creative Practices for Transformative Futures der Europäischen Union und des britischen Projekts Social Justice in the Digital Economy. Neben ihrer akademischen Laufbahn verfügt sie über 10 Jahre Berufserfahrung im Designsektor und leitete eine internationale Wohltätigkeitsorganisation, die digitale Medien für den kulturellen Austausch nutzt.

 

 

Ecological foundations of liveable cities: Linking people and nature in an urban-technological area.

Kurzbiographie: Erik Gómez-Baggethun ist Professor für Environmental Governance an der Norwegian University of Life Sciences (NMBU) und Senior Research Associate an der Universität Oxford. Seine Forschung umfasst Themen der ökologischen Ökonomie, der Stadtplanung und Nachhaltigkeitswissenschaften, zu denen er ca. 150 Artikel, Buchkapitel und politische Berichte veröffentlicht hat. Er hat verschiedene Forschungsprojekte zur städtischen Nachhaltigkeit geleitet und war einer der Hauptautoren des UN-CBD-Berichts Cities and Biodiversity Outlook 1. Erik ist gewählter Präsident der International Society for Ecological Economics und fungiert als Experte für Naturwerte für die Intergovernmental Platform on Biodiversity & Ecosystem Services (IPBES).

Kurzbiographie: Prof. Dr. Cordula Kropp ist Soziologin mit einem langjährigen Schwerpunkt in der nachhaltigkeitsorientierten Forschung zu gesellschaftlichen Naturverhältnissen, Innovationen und soziotechnischem Wandel. Seit 2016 hat sie den Lehrstuhl für Umwelt- und Techniksoziologie am sozialwissenschaftlichen Institut der Universität Stuttgart inne. Ihre gegenwärtigen Arbeitsschwerpunkte umfassen den laufenden Infrastrukturwandel (bspw. Energiewende, Verkehrs- Ernährungs- und Bauwende, Digitalisierung und Automatisierung) und die beteiligungsorientierte Entwicklung nachhaltiger Städte (vom urbanen Garten bis zur smart city). Sie ist Direktorin des Zentrums für Interdisziplinäre Risiko- und Innovationsforschung der Universität Stuttgart (ZIRIUS) und Lead-PI im Exzellenzcluster "Integrative Computational Design and Construction for Architecture" (IntCDC). Zuletzt erschienen sind das Lehrbuch Kropp & Sonnberger (2021): Umweltsoziologie. Baden-Baden: Nomos und der Sammelband Kropp, C., Antoni-Komar, I. & C. Sage eds. (2021): Food System Transformations: Social Movements, local economies, collaborative networks (Critical Food Studies). New York/ London: Routledge.